Welcome to Prostate Cymru

Charity Chairman Nominated For Award

Prostate Cymru’s Chairman Andy Thomas has been nominated for an award at the South Wales Argus Health & Care Awards 2019. Andy, a consultant urologist, has been nominated for ‘Surgeon of the Year’. The nomination praised Andy’s skills, expertise and passion as a renowned surgeon who delivers high quality patient care to men in Wales with prostate issues such as benign prostate disease and prostate cancer. The nomination also highlighted Andy’s involvement as the Chairman and a founder trustee of Prostate Cymru, the leading prostate health charity in Wales and his dedication to raising funds and awareness.

Andy, who is originally from Llandybie in Carmarthenshire, graduated from The University of Wales College of Medicine, Cardiff in 1988 before performing basic surgery training in the Midlands and South Wales. His urological training was carried out South Wales and he also spent a year of sub-specialist training in Adelaide, South Australia before establishing a urology unit at the Princess of Wales Hospital, Bridgend in 1998.

Andy formed Prostate Cymru, then known as GLAZE, with the late Ray Murray in 2003 to help men in Wales have access to the best available treatments for prostate issues from the NHS in Wales. The charity has supported GreenLight Laser treatment for benign prostate disease and funded the training of surgeons using the Da Vinci robot for minimally invasive prostate cancer surgery to date. Andy is always keen to learn about innovative new techniques and treatments to improve prostate health in Wales and support men with the conditions.

The South Wales Argus Health & Care Awards, which are in their third year, will be held on Thursday 5th September at Chepstow Racecourse. The event is held in association with Rutherford Cancer Centres and sponsored by several local businesses. In addition to ‘Surgeon of the Year’ for which Andy is nominated, the ceremony recognises other members of the health and care sectors with award categories including:

  • Innovative Care in the Care Home Sector
  • Doctor of the Year
  • Third Sector or Community Team of the Year
  • Pharmacy of the Year
  • Outstanding Achievement Award
  • Paramedic or First Responder of the Year
  • Together We Achieve Team Award
  • GP Practice of the Year
  • Special Recognition Nursing Award
  • Volunteer of the Year
  • Team of the Year
  • Midwife of the Year
  • Support Staff of the Year
  • Research Impact Award

Stay Connected...

Subscribe to our Newsletter
Prostate Cymru